looking for a long lasting saw, maybe used.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryan Workman

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am new to this industry i am a harry home owner type.. I am looking for a saw for around 5-600 that will last, so dont want homeowner line of saws. I am cutting hard woods like oak, walnut, birch etc.. many are over 30". I am not gonna be working 12 days 7 days a week so weight isnt that big of deal for me. I am 6' 225 average and fairly fit... so i can handle a bit of weight.. been carrying heavy rucksacks all over afghanistan is it is no biggie for me.

any way was think of a husky 555 but i see a 044 and a 575 xp on the used boards.. what do you guys think?

thanks in advance

and i posted this in the trading post as well

262 XP, power to weight ratio is almost untouchable, dead reliable, simple and easy to work on, parts are cheap(ish), will run a 20" bar all day with full comp and a 24" with skip tooth, runs at 13,500 RPM's (impressive even by todays standards) and is new enough to have the better spring anti-vibe.

Joe

Buy the best saw that you can reasonably afford.

And just a tip. A homeowner quality saw will last just as long as a "pro-saw" will......as long as it's properly maintained. It really is just that simple. Chainsaws tend to get used and abused. As in ignored.

Many users just fuel and oil um and don't sweat anything, until something goes bad or breaks. Use E-Free gas if at all possible and full-synth. oil as mix. Keep the chain sharp and keep extra spark plugs on hand. I do so for air filters as well.

I keep mine clean.....as in extremely clean. I can do that cause I don't cut for a living, so I have the time, energy, and the will to do so. Clean saws perform better than dirty ones do.

You may or may not know all this already. If you do, then you're just a step ahead in the game.