Looking for a saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bave30

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all......buying some land and need some advice. I'm not a complete noob but pretty inexperienced, especially by your standards...I've cut maybe 15-20 cords of wood over the years and done some fairly light work around my house removing and chunking up limbs and small trees. The land I'm buying is 35 wooded acres. I will be clearing 1-2 acres for a building site and a driveway and will want to make some ATV/dirtbike/tractor trails, but the rest I plan to just maintain...take care of deadfall, thinning, etc. I do hope to build a couple of cabins at some point and would like to do some milling on-site for that. I haven't looked closely at the trees that are there yet and I've only seen half the acreage anyway, but most of the stuff I've seen and recall is pretty small. A few fairly girthy gnarly pines but I haven't seen a lot of big hardwood yet. Might be lots in the back. So this post might be pre-mature in that I should have more info soon about what I'll have to deal with, but chances are that I'll work around any big stuff unless it looks like it NEEDS to come down. I'll probably be back for advice on that if something looks suspicious.