Making a firewood processor

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1CallLandscape

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
hi all, im staring a new thread on my firewood processor build / project that i am starting. Im open to all ideas, concerns, experiences, opinions etc....

Im going to build a moderate to large sized splitter, it is going to be a tow behind, not self propelled and it will have a quick change wedge design. i will be using a harvester bar type of cutter. I am a pretty good welder/ fabricator so throw some ideas my way.

If you have any LARGE pistons, motors, controls steel stock etc that you want to part with for free or for a price PLEASE pm me with the details.

I will be posting as i build it and i will include alot of pics for it too

thanks
-mike

Last edited:
howdy,

i'm also building one. getting the hydraulics correct has NOT been easy.

i have hopes of firing it up on friday or next week.....

What is the difference between a firewood processor and a splitter?

Nevermind, google is my friend.:D

i'm running a 4 inch ram with sort of 25 gpm.

goal is you feet a log in one end, and split firewood pieces come out the other end every 5 seconds.

How do you keep from getting pelted with wood chunks when you go to stack the wood?

you dont stack it right away. you use a conveyor off of the splitter to pile it up or load a truck. A firewood processor is like a log splitter on steroids to answer somebody elses question too

so 25 gpm pump is it a 2 stage or single stage???

you dont stack it right away. you use a conveyor off of the splitter to pile it up or load a truck. A firewood processor is like a log splitter on steroids to answer somebody elses question too

so 25 gpm pump is it a 2 stage or single stage???

Thanks for the info. I asked the other question too. I'm full of them.:D

dr miller, Pics?..