Making raised beds

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
AND,, the concrete is limestone, so the block will constantly be raising the pH,, not good.

I live in Virginia, we always fought low pH due to acid rain,,
now, they quit burning coal for electricity, no more acid rain, my soil pH is going over 7.

I had to start buying sulfur to acidify the soil,,,
In this area, it is a good thing because the soils are typically low pH. Farmers here have to lime their fields annually.

I have been growing organic vegetables for 49 years.
I use double dug raised beds with no lumber or stone for over 15 years & they are still going strong.
I said that, so you would know I am Not against raised beds.
BUT you do not need raised bed, unless you have heavy clay & or stone in your garden or you have a high water table & wet soil ten months out the year.
This does not mean you should not have raised beds, just that it is not needed, to have a good garden.
I mowed down my raspberries, that was out of control (my fault), & turned the soil, that had not been planted in twenty years.
I then put the onions just under the soil & they have multiplied six fold, with no added compost or fertilizer.
If you follow the basic rules, then you will have more than you can eat.
We have low pH(4.5-5.5) here in S.C., because it is an ancient seashore, great for my Rabbiteye blueberries, black berries & southern raspberries.
I use gypsum which is calcium sulfate dihydrate, CaSO4.2H2O in pellet form so the wind will not blow it away & I will not breathe it.
I use coffee chaff compost, some animal waste, leaves, wheat straw & pasture clipping, some wood chips for mushrooms.
Going to try rice husk on my garlic/onion beds as mulch this Fall, the husk are small & will not hinder the bulbing of the plants in any way.
Hopefully they will not mat or blow away.