Missing tooth on new chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fumbler

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to chainsaws and this site.

I just bought an Oregon chain from a Husqvarna dealer for my 18" 350.

The chain is low profile full chisel 0.325", 0.050", 72DL.

My question is this:
It looks like the chain was put together by the dealer from bulk chain. That's not a problem at all...BUT there is one tooth missing.
Will this cause any wierd vibration or premature wear on other teeth or anything like that?

Cool.
I thought maybe the dealer put it together on a monday morning.

It's not normal or acceptable in our shop, yea the person that assembled the loop did leave out the tooth. Will it make a difference it will be so slight you probably will not notice but I will not allow it in my store.

Scott

side note** the local Stihl dealer has a habit of this also has a habit of using up to 3 different styles of chain to make a loop.

My 24" Oregon full shisel chain also has one missing.:mad:
Ron
attachment.php

The last time I tried riviting a chain together on a cutter, I had a very hard time doing so, thus the reason its not done.

CaseyForrest said:
I wonder if theres a reason they wont rivet a chain together on a cutter. Must have something to do with chances of breaking.

This is not the norm by any means. Its not a breakage issue its a incompetent assembler.

Scott

Scott, howso? Maybe its full skip, and thats the way the cutters fall on the number of drivers needed for bar size?

If youve got an odd number of drivers, arent you going to have instances where you will either have a gap, or not?

CaseyForrest said:
Scott, howso? Maybe its full skip, and thats the way the cutters fall on the number of drivers needed for bar size?