Ms261c no ignition

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sapponetta

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello. I'm the operations manager/mechanic for a commercial landscaping company. Have an ms261c that started for a split second and died. No ignition. Coil tests 25ohms. Did standard ignition coil testing procedures. Continuity on wiring is good. Crankcase checks. Brand new plug of course. Stihl dealer technician specifically told me that a faulty or failing fuel solenoid will not cut off ignition. I don't want to put a $150 coil on this saw and have it not start. I'm not an expert mechanic by any means. I'm just the guy at our shop who knows the most so maintenance and repairs to fleet and equipment typically fall on me. that knows the most.... Any help would be appreciated. I absolutely hate the mtronic. Never have an issue repairing any other 2 or 4 stroke engines.

A bad wiring harness will kill the ignition in an M-tronic saw. If the computer can't see the solenoid it can't control the fuel mix so kills the ignition.
I checked continuity on entire harness. Spoke with a tech at our Stihl dealer today and he said a bad solenoid will not kill ignition. I hate these saws. Never have trouble getting anything else running and starting easy. 99% of our problems are gummed up carbs. No spark with harness disconnected either btw. I have checked every component of this saw 3x. Baffled.

Flywheel and magnets are good too.

I guess I haven't checked for power thru the HT lead, but Ive never witnessed a Stihl coil or lead fail and I'd be a little surprised to see this one now. And like I said, I measured 25ohms across the new coil and the current coil on the dead saw.