Muffler Mod basics

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WadePatton

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I've got a 024 super, 2145, 2150, and a 2077 (in a few days) to play with.

I have some hot-rodding experience in 4-stroke, turbo diesels. My truck runs straight 4-inch exhaust off the turbo into 5-inch stacks. VERY little restriction except for the turbocharger. Keeps exhaust gas temps manageable, but is quite the loud thing.:D (all my trucks are well over 2x stock HP-dyno'ed).

NOW on the two-stroke, is less restriction always better, or is some control over the exhaust gasses good for performance?

Search the site on muffler mods, there is lots of info.

Up to about 150% of the effective port areas is what I have found to be an advantage.

If you go too big your loosing fuel out the muffler by letting the out going charge get too far from the port too quickly and not be availible to be scavenged back in. Also low end and idle suffers.

I've never seen a muffler with 150% of port area that ran well. IMO the ones done by the best saw builders are about 90%-120% of exhaust port area (not counting the resistance added by the spark arresting screen). You can always drill a bigger hole, closing it up is harder.

Just read what I said, or do you just want to go on the attack first.

the word "About" and "up to 150%"

I have done this and measured saw and muffler temp, cut times, even fuel consumption.

From what I have found the saw runs just fine up to and maybe beyond 150% with no screen. However it burns more fuel and nets only a bit more cutting speed as the opening gets bigger from 100-150%

Just depends on what you want most of the max power with good idle and fuel consumption, or the fastest cut times to hell with fuel consumption, noise and what not.