My new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Build Right

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So gentleman , let me say this right off the bat. I am not in any way shape or form a professional logger or tree removal expert. I am a builder with my own company with 20+ years experience working with my hands and professional tools. I have owned for two years a jonsered 2255 which honestly did the trick for me until recently. I know better than to try and take down trees or use the saw in an unsafe way while cutting , I mean I need my hands guys for work! Anyway, recently we had a hurricane come through here on the island and downed some pretty hefty oaks. They were easily 20”-24” thick. I personally was spared but my neighbor was not. He was actually away while his wife was home. A nice size oak (24” thick) came down across his driveway trapping his cars/wife from being able to go out and go to work. I immediately went over and went to work. Again I’m not an idiot and worked the tree in a very safe manner. So obviously guys my 2255 was at its limit . Yes it worked (I run a 20” TsuMura bar) and yes it got the job done but boy it took me two freaking days, and the saw was really struggling the entire time. So, enough was enough. I just picked up a cs2186wh , yes the model with heated handle. It’s essentially pretty new and although I paid a pretty penny ($600) I’m really hoping this will do the trick in the event this ever happens again. So my questions to you guys are this, I picked up a cheap tachometer off amazon. The model where you wrap the wire around the spark plug wire to get the reading... at full throttle the damn thing read almost 12k rpms!! Not good I know. I turned the high limit down until I hit the limit and was able to bring the full throttle rpm limit to 10.5k rpms... I’m thinking that’s still too darn high right ??? Should I attempt to remove