New At It in My Old Age ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to it also but i am only 18 but i say go for it man age is just a number dont let people tell you not to start something because your "too old" Theres arborist that climb daily that are 50 and 60 yrs old the oldest ive ever heard of the guy was like 84 and climbed daily so go for it man.

If your passion for trees only developed after you got laid off, id recommend you find another career. This line of work can be thankless.

If your passion for trees only developed after you got laid off, id recommend you find another career. This line of work can be thankless.

My passion for Trees started at an early age ,my grandmother and mother would walk around here and point out and name Trees to me ..... Grandfather built Log homes ... Construction I worked with wood ...... Anything I can do with wood ............

I was 50 when I started climbing some 4 years ago. Where in NC are you ?

Rick

Got layed off in Asheville ,went out to Murphy and Andrews ,Topton with a little side work and a lot of trout fishing,I will work my way back to Asheville in the Fall ,maybe before...........

I'm new to it also but i am only 18 but i say go for it man age is just a number dont let people tell you not to start something because your "too old" Theres arborist that climb daily that are 50 and 60 yrs old the oldest ive ever heard of the guy was like 84 and climbed daily so go for it man.

It would be cool to work that long around trees..........

Age only matters in your head. I'm 53 and been climbing my whole life.(or so it seems) If that is what you really what to do go for it,
but if your thinking of it as a way to make a few bucks because constructions slow, you should rethink it. This business isn't thriving