New Guy and Saws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cre10

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new here and thought this looked like a great site so I joined to become a member. I've been running saws since I was 12 years old. I'm not an expert at all. I came here to learn more about my saws, learn about chain pitch, and anything and everything else.

I'm curious to learn about 3/8 low pitch, .325, and 3/8 standard. Just curious about ideal bar lengths for my saws and pitches.

I have
2- MS180's with 14" .050 bars.

2- MS211's with 16" .050 bars

2- MS290's with 20" .063 bars.

If you have not read the Oregon Maintenance manual pdf, that's a real high value source of info.
This?

http://www.oregonproducts.com/pro/pdf/maintenance_manual/ms_manual.pdf

I mainly came here to learn from you guys as experts. I've been thinking of getting something a little lighter than my 290, but more powerful than my 211's. I want to make sure I get the right saw and have it set up right. 3/8, 3/8lp, and .325 confuses me and I also don't get how you guys are so smart in knowing, "hey a 20" bar is too much for a 250, run a 16 .325... etc"

Hey guys I'm new here and thought this looked like a great site so I joined to become a member. I've been running saws since I was 12 years old. I'm not an expert at all. I came here to learn more about my saws, learn about chain pitch, and anything and everything else.

I'm curious to learn about 3/8 low pitch, .325, and 3/8 standard. Just curious about ideal bar lengths for my saws and pitches.

I have

Your bars are longer than what works best on those saws, but still within reason - provided you have 3/8 low pro (picco) on the two smallest ones, and .325 on the 290.

The 180's and 211's run low profile 3/8 and the 290's run .325.