New sthil gone bad

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marky Mark

Hell's Kitchen Trapper
Reaction score
New stihl gone bad

I have followed this site for sometime but just started posting, by trade I am a computer networker but for years I have always loved to cut trees. I went out in jan a purchased a ms440 mag Stihl saw to back up my 028 and it just won't run, the first one had a bad carb, I returned it and I was given a new saw. The second one has been back 4 times and stil won't cut for sh$%. I have 79 acres about 150 miles from my house and have been cutting trees that a forester recomended I remove and sell.
Well this weekend was it, the saw just wouldn't run when I went to cut. I brought the saw to Al's repair in Hancock NY and he was suprised it wouldn't run. I did not buy this saw from him. While I was there In picked up husky 357 xp and before long walked out the door with it. I managed to cut and skid about 25 trees with this saw and it is a real work horse.
Has anyone had this type of problem with the Stihl saw?? Are they hit or miss, have they gone down in Quaility in that last few years.
Just wanted to vent
mark

Last edited:
Nothing but good luck here, except with maybe an 019; most don't seem to make even a good tire chock.

028/038 very good run of saws, lil'heavy.

Really, love 044/ms440; very good performer, have 4 and 1 of those!

There is a chainsaw forum on this site, perhaps you would get more of the attention of the Stihl Techs there. Perhaps they would know of lemons and their handling etc. As a non-pro; you should get better warranty than we do!