New to wood burning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Treemoss

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I just joined so I might have alot of questions. I am new to wood-burning and woodstoves. I have a split level house that is about 1200 ft.². It was built in the 50s and is not that airtight. I am sort of on a budget so I am Going to Get the Napoleon 1450 independent stove. But I see this is good for 800 to over 2000 ft.² is this stove overkill for my house. Also Is this stove a good stove. Because of the size of the stove will I be burning it low and building up more creosote. Also the vent pipe will be going outside out of the wall with Double insulated stainless steel. It has 2 90° elbows and 2 30° offsets Passed the Gutter peak for about 20 feet total Length. It only has 14 feet vertical Length. Is this good enough or will I have draft problems. Also will there be a lot of creosote Buildup in the pipe Because of all the offsets and elbows. I will be burning 100% seasoned wood oak Mostly. Any information will be helpful information since I am very new to wood-burning and wood-burning stoves thank you.

Howdy, welcome to the madhou...to this fine forum!

Can't tell ya on all those twists and turns, other than years ago I decided to ditch the damper and regulate my heat with size and species of wood, about all the time running wide open.

I found trying to restrict the exhaust did just that, made for smoky fires and so on, dry wood or not. So..switched to a much larger variety of sizes of wood, leave the air open, no damper, and burn that way. I want that thing to *draw* and burn hot and clean.