Newbie With Quick Question For Experts - CSM

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daddy11ac

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys. Thanks for all the posts. I've spent hours reading everything on here the last few days.

OK, I'll try to keep this brief, but here's my situation and would love some of you guys to chime in with a quick response.

I'm an intermediate woodworker, got my jointer, planer, table saw, etc. I have been buying rough sawn stuff and doing a lot of table tops and what not. Been contemplating trying to mill my own with a chainsaw mill on and off for a year, researching, reading everything I can (like on this forum). So, I got my hands on 5 rails today, average diameter about 30", with one big boy (to me) pushing 42" on the thick end. Oak and maple.

So, now I'm ready to make my purchase. Chainsaw, mill, accessories, etc. I think I know what chainsaw I need (Stihl/Husq 85cc or more), but my question to you guys is, should I get a 48" bar or a 36" bar/mill setup. For that one extra big log (extra big to me), can I just 'cant' the thing using a 36", or is it easier to simply get the bigger size (48"), even though I imagine most of the logs in the future I mill will be much smaller?

I hope this makes sense, and thank you to anyone who spends their own time responding to this. It is appreciated. Just looking for the guys who know to say "go buy this, this and that, and you'll be fine". I'm willing to spend the money, as this is not a money/time thing for me. I truly want to do it for the right reasons, which is as a hobbyist, so any responses saying "for the money, your better of with x and y" probably wont resonate well with me.

BTW, I live in Jersey, and did try to find prices for a portable miller, but no one in my area can handle anything bigger than 28" diameter.

Thanks in advance again.

Anthony

Hi, Welcome to the site.