No such thing as too much firewood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mainewoods

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Apparently many more people than usual ran out of wood, are almost out, or are into next years supply, this winter. Many have said they "would never be caught without enough firewood again", yet quite a few have been, and not for the first time. I realize a lot of you don't have a woodlot, and have to scrounge for your firewood, but do any of you have plans to do things a little different this year than in the past?

YES!!!! This is my first year burning in a while. I greatly underestimated what I would use. I have been bringing in 2-3 loads a week and I plan to keep it up (weather permitting) till the end of March when I go back to work. I'll split and stack all I have brought in and in the fall I'll start it again.

Differently?? No, nothing different.
I'm plannin' on workin' hard at it this spring and next, gettin' ahead by three or four, and then I'm gonna' kick back and be lazy for a couple years... just like I've always done.
No sense swappin' horses in the middle of the race... especially when the one you're ridin' has never fallen down.

My outdoor stacks are going to be covered, and covered they will stay from now on in the wood shed, I have an old shed that I was planning to replace and hadnt filled it this winter, following advice gleamed from on here I thought I would be smart and just stack it outside like some do...
Last week I patched the roof or rather shingled it with tarps to get another winter out of it, already looking forward to the improved quality of the wood I should have.

It goes to show what works for people in one area dosent mean it will work in another region....