Noob here....basic questions on ECHO CS-400 Chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

khorton

Reaction score
Hey all, I just joined this site, and wanted to know if you all could provide a little insight on this saw. My wife purchased for me as a replacement to my dead P.O.C. Craftsman saw that was around 10 years old and had been run maybe a dozen times. Anyway, I was reading the reviews on this saw (CS400), and this is the one that stood out and made me come to this site:

Can someone give me some insight on this topic?

I don't want to screw up this saw.

Thx in advance for any guidance.

***By Laura Allensworth - See all my reviewsThis review is from: Echo CS-400 18" Gas Chainsaw
Step one: Go to the Arborists Site Forums and read up on the CS400, and the mods those guys are doing. Pretty much everyone on that site is a pro user or saw addict. You will find that this is a highly respected saw even amoung pros. They all know that Echo's warranty is garbage but many don't care.

Step two: Do the mixture screw stop removal mod before you even start it.

Step three: Start the saw and tune it properly. Arborists Site can help you with this too if you are a complete rookie.

(The EPA has clamped down on 2 cycle emmissions; so many engines come with stops on the mixture screws to keep the user from tuning "too rich" and melting the polar ice caps. My saw was very lean even in warm weather tuned with both needles to the stops. Left alone it would have surely burnt up like so many in these Amazon reviews. I removed the stops and tuned the saw. Viola, she runs perfect.)

Step four: Run the saw and love it.

Step five: After several tanks of fuel consider doing the fabled muffler mod, or "MM" as the guys on the site call it. The CS400 responds very favorbaly to a MM and the new found power will have you looking for saw races with your little sleeper.