Noob needs advise

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deeeez

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone, :D

I'm a complete novice when it comes to chainsaws. During the past week I've been on the internet (a lot of reading on this site), visiting dealers and even reading two chainsaw manuals trying to make my decision as far as purchasing my first chainsaw. I would appreciate your advise, here is what I know and what I'm looking for:

I'm going to be cutting a lot of branches, a 16" diameter stump, and couple of small trees with <12" diameter. This chainsaw is not going to be used for any serious cutting and I don't anticipate using it more than a couple of hours a year.

I have researched and narrowed it down to Husky and Stihl. I've gone to three dealers that carry both. Two of the three suggested Stihl, the other one was indifferent.

I will not buy the Husky 142 or 137, because I heard that they are made by Pulon. I've also noticed that the Husky's tend to be the better value as they include more features or HP for the same price. I also know about Stihl parts being easier to find, but costing slightly more than husky.

I was leaning toward the Husky 345 but I came across a few too many threads of people having problems with them. So now it's between a 350 or Stihl 250/230. :help:

1. So, should I go with the Husky or Stihl? :dizzy:
If you recommend Stihl, there is about a $40 to $50 difference between the "CB-E" and standard model. "CB-E" has a tool less tensioner and primer for easy starting. 2. Do I really need those features? :confused:

3. Also, should I go with a 16" or 18" bar?

I would really appreciate your advise