Best chainsaw brand?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjpaq

Reaction score
I’m looking for a chainsaw. I currently own à Stihl ms170. It’s great for limbing, brushing, on the 4 wheeler etc. Not so great for cutting hardwood logs (on weekends, I’m not a pro need about 5 face cords per year)

I went to a dealer and he recommends the Stihl ms 261 (855$ cds). He also sells husqavarna and doesn’t recommend them at all. He showed me the shop where they currently have about 20 saws to fix and 19 of them were huskies and only 1 Stihl.

Thoughts? Comments?

I’m looking for a chainsaw. I currently own à Stihl ms170. It’s great for limbing, brushing, on the 4 wheeler etc. Not so great for cutting hardwood logs (on weekends, I’m not a pro need about 5 face cords per year)

I went to a dealer and he recommends the Stihl ms 261 (855$ cds). He also sells husqavarna and doesn’t recommend them at all. He showed me the shop where they currently have about 20 saws to fix and 19 of them were huskies and only 1 Stihl.

Thoughts? Comments?
261 a good saw , come down to what ur needs are , not ur wants , but it’s ur choice so do what you like 👍

Thoughts? Comments?
You answered your own question when you mentioned the repairs.

As I've said before, I'd go to hell and back with a 261.

The 261 is the pro level model, a bit more power and a bit tougher but the 271 is just as good for the home owner and a bit cheaper. Still great quality. I ran one for about 10 years before I changed to a 261 and never turned back.

BTW, I also run a 170. Have had a few of them. Great little saw.

Stihl all the way!

mic drop.gif

261 is supposed to be an awesome machine, and if I were looking for new that would be my choice for your purposes.