Now I'm a Pro Mac 610 owner...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John in MA

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I figured I'd pick one of these things up at the dump sooner or later. Now I am the proud (?) owner of a Pro Mac 610. Started right up and doesn't even have a broken air box! Still has the original chain that looks like it was never sharpened.

Now, aisde from the people who seem to pay big bucks for them on eBay, is there anyone who actually likes these saws? It weighs a ton, feels flimsy, and is the ugliest saw I've ever used. Reeks of cheap '80s design.

This thing weighs as much as my Super XL-925, yet it feels like it makes half the power!

My dad's ole 610 Pro Mac is an excellent saw. Well not compared to my new 046 M but, that ole saw just wont quit runnin so i cant complain much about it.

I agree that this model, and many others from the same era from McC aren't much...

I've never had much good to say about McC saws; the only ones I own are ones that I got for little or nothing, or the 2 old 3/25's for historical value (first mass produced all-position gas chain saw...1949) To be fair, though, I hafta admit that they do work. sort-of. After a fashion.

I've got an old McC string trimmer that just won't die. Cheap piece of junk, but every time it quits it's something small...I've never even put a diaghragm in the carb.

Close but no cigar...

John,
I don't have a 610 but I do have it's little brother...the PM605. You are right on the money. It's way heavy, ugly as sin and it just won't quit. I've always liked my 605 aside from the oiler holes getting clogged now and again. Plenty of power left in the old girl but I don't use it much because I'm to lazy to use the manual oiler. Old Pro Macs never die, they just become boat anchors!
Seesaw