Oak slab wood, IN DISGUISE! :)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shotgun

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
everyone knows that slab wood is cheaper than logs, so why not make a few extra bucks turing it into cut firewood? thats what im trying to do.

i can get 6 cords of oak slab wood delivered to me for about $50/cord, or i can go pick it up myself, (1 cord/truckload) for $40. got three cords last monday and since its slab, its much easier to cut with an ax. i want to be educated on log splitters. im deffently leaning towards gas operated. i know im not very specific, but all help is appreciated. :) im new at doing this myself, so be kind. :givebeer:

I bought 4 cords of oak slab this past spring for $10 a cord. For the price, I had to buy it, and there was a whole lot more available. Same guy is selling it now for $60 a cord. It's kind of a pain in the arse to deal with really. I made a jig / cradle to set it in and cut to 16" lengths, but came to the conclusion that I could put up a lot more wood faster if it were in rounds. For the price, I would do it again. For resale, probably not

Last edited:
Just an opinion

Slab wood is cheaper for a couple of reasons:

1) Seller (sawmill) often ties slabs in bundles which he then measures at the widest point of width and height to come up with his 4X4X8 "cord".
Cut and stacked, the dimensions of your resulting "cord" may be disappointing.

2) Due to much higher proportion of bark, the BTU and longevity of burn from your "cord" will be much less than standard split rounds

3) For same reason as above, you will get lots more ashes from slabs.

Do I understand that you are cutting the 8' slabs to standard 16-24" firewood ...with an axe ????