Opti-2 Oil

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DOLMARatOs

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've been using and retailing Opti-2 2-cycle oil for over 10 years. I've used it in all types of 2 cycle equipment and think highly of it.

I recomend 50:1 to 70:1 mixture in modern saws using Opti-2.

Here is my question, without getting into fights. Who has used Opti-2. Specifically who has had good and bad views of it from actual use. I've used it in 30+ year old saws and equipment with no problems. I'd like to hear honest opinions and events based upon use. I've heard horror stories of burned up equipment, but I've also heard the same stories using Klotz, Stihl, Echo, Mobil, Amsoil, etc.

Lets hear what everyone has to say.

I have a commercial customer with a ton of equipment and his own in house service tech. His men aren't gentle on equipment and are in the habit of part throttling string trimmers to the point they won't run anymore. The pistons get "black death" thick gooey oil deposits that stick the rings. His service guy would replace the pistons, clean the jugs and mufflers and send the equipment back out, they weren't scored just glued up. Since switching to OPTI, the service guy isn't doing top end jobs anymore.

You know, this is not an uncommon story. I had a commercial guy who pulled all his spark screens because they were plugging constantly. Then he had to replace or clean mufflers. I gave him some Opti-2, 6 months later I have a standing order for 6 cases a season (in his size bottle: 1400+ gallons of mixed fuel).

Good times. Let us here more tales. Good, bad, indifferent, What is Opti? Anything goes for sure.

Howdy DOLMARatOs,

Here is my experience with it.