OWB operation list for wife/others to follow

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

H-Ranch

Some things happen for a reason
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
A lesson I have learned from one of my mentors is to keep a logbook for every piece of equipment I have. Admittedly, I'm still learning to do it. He passed away a few years ago in a plane crash and I still wish he was around - when I visit his wife I almost expect him to walk in the door and ask, "How's it going, guy?", like he always did. Anyway, he kept a detailed list of what was done to every piece of equipment including starting and operation instructions. I actually ended up buying a couple of his saws and inherited his splitter after helping her split wood one summer - all came with a logbook.

I have a couple of short trips scheduled this winter and my wife was asking me to write down what she needs to do to run the OWB. She's done it a few times and has done well but she is concerned if something other than filling with wood is needed and just generally getting the best operation out of it. I'll share mine when I'm done with it.

Does anyone have a list they provide to the wife, neighbor, or brother-in-law when they are out of town?

I would write down the basic process I go through: open door slowly, rake coals to the front, check water level, stack wood just inside the door, etc. If you know what the weather will be for the time you are gone and have a good idea how much wood you would be loading I would separate the wood to add and put them in piles for each loading.

Last edited:
Instructions to wife on how to maintain OWB:

"I'm goin out, don't know when I'll be back. If you don't keep puttin wood in the damn thing, your fat A$$ is gonna get cold".

See.....no need for a detailed proceedure.