OWB Wood Storage

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abohac

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Anyone have a neat way to keep their wood dry at their stove? I have been debating putting up a shed for 6 years now (currently my wood is in a pile, with a tarp over it and a foot of snow on the tarp!) I would like to enclose the stove and all but I already get all smokey everytime I open the door, I don't think enclosing the furnace is such a good idea. Instead of a shed I was thinking about getting a decent trailer (tandem) with a hoist, covering it up with a tarp and just leaving it at the stove. Obviously I can't hold a winters burn in one trailer, but I could reload the trailer when conditions were good and the wood was not snow covered. That way I don't have a permanent shed at the stove which I think would look like hell (at least in my yard) and I would have the use of a nice trailer the rest of the year. Any one have any thoughts (or better ideas). Oh, also, I'm th laziest person on earth so don't suggest I stack it nice and neat. That aint happening! Too many other things to do.

abohac - I feel your pain.... same situation as you... Picture of my stove and wood piles. Awhile back there was this thread (see below), it has some good designs and ideas. I like your temporary trailer idea, not sure a small shed would work in my side yard either, but I might go that route to stay out of the weather as I load it... Maybe a small shed with a roof over the stove and some wood, no sides.

http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=56882

Curious what others are doing also.

Icreek

It's the only thing I hate about my stove. I think I'll build an awning over the stove (as you stated) to let the smoke out but keep snow from building up around the stove. Somethings have to change. Thanks for the reply.