Pole Saw Decision

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AmateurSawer

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I want to get a pole saw to trim branches around my hayfields, pastures, lawn etc. I probably won't use it but every year or two. I'm thinking a battery unit will sit idle better than a gas model.
Biggest limbs I will cut are 4" or less.
I don't want to go "cheap" but don't need a professional model.
I prefer an automatic oiler.
Might want to get a blower for grass clippings etc to go along with it using the same batteries but that's not a must.
I see 20V, 40V models among others. Isn't amperage more important for power?
Thanks for your replies

I'll provide my insight based on the one I have been using for the last 5 years or so... It is the Ryobi 18V with a screw on extension. Out of the box it is 9.5' long with the extension installed and has an 8" bar. The one I have has an oiler but I see they make one now without, too. I am already deep into the Ryobi One+ ecosystem so wanted to get something that uses the same batteries. I probably pull it out a couple times a year and it does everything I ask it to. It has a bit slower cutting speed but since I'm not using it daily I really don't care if it takes me a few seconds more per branch. It is definitely a torquey little sucker and I have cut 4" branches many times, including today cleaning up some damaged maple branches. Recently I purchased an additional used one so I could put another extension in and have ~12' or so which I used today as well. The 18v model has the motor at the bar so the extensions act as electrical connectors too, but no physical rotating bits... It is pretty solid with the stock 3 sections. With the fourth added it flexes a bit more but worked fine. I may add something for rigidity in that configuration, though.