Ppe

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JUDGE1162

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I know there are other threads on the subject but based on some recent threads on the board figured it was a good topic to talk about.

Who uses it, how often, what do you use?

Any stories of how PPE saved you or I wish I had PPE on will add to the topic too.

Based on the photos posted on the board very few of us use PPE, I am guilty of it and I worked as a health and safety officer for a while and regularly write health and safety plans for job sites, Yet I find I tend to wear my PPE less often than not.

While I am on the topic I am looking for chaps to fit us Big guys (waist 50" plus), anyone know of a good source, PM me if you want.

I'd like to say "always" but there are a couple pictures on here where I wasn't wearing my full kit at our last GTG, but there's a story behind those pictures. Except for in those pictures, though, I always wear my PPE when I'm cutting. I nicked my thighs a couple times in the days before I wore all my PPE, and I've had chains on longer bars break/get thrown and swing back into my leg. I learned my lessons at minimal cost to myself, thankfully.

So, I wear my chaps, ear protection, eye protection, grippy work gloves, and boots every time I cut. Heck, I even wear work gloves, eye and ear protection (the kind with a radio in 'em) when I'm mowing the grass or blowing the leaves.

Playing:
Dolmar7900Racing.jpg

Working:
FreecycleTree2.jpg

I always wear ear protection - my father was quite deaf (caused by excessive noise), and I learned from this. Recently I've got one of those combined hard-hat/ear defenders/eye protection jobs, and it works really well.