Question on saddles and fall restraints

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rusty12

Reaction score
Hello, I've been lingering around your website for a few months now and finally needed to ask a question I'm new to the bussiness, but I do have a decent amount of experience with chainsaws and felling of trees, but I'm kinda new to climbing. I was on the baileys website looking at saddles and it said that they're not intended as a fall restraint..I thought that what they were intended for..but anywase if someone could give me a list of the stuff I would need to get anything as small as carabiner to the saddle I would appreciate it very much...thanks Rusty12

Go to http://www.wesspur.com/index.html look at the complete climbing kits. You can either buy the kit or use it as a guide to what you may need. they have both spur and rope kits. I know because I just went through the process with them. Great prices, great cust service, they answered alot, alot of questions. Not a shameless pitch for them just my experience.

Rusty12 said:
I was on the baileys website looking at saddles and it said that they're not intended as a fall restraint..I thought that what they were intended for..
No. Falling is not part of our sport. A fall is never a good thing, unlike rock (sport) climbing where falling is expected and planned for. We just don't do that. Fall-restraint stuff is made for other aerial disciplines, tower work, bridges, high scaffolds, roofing and work involving aerial lifts (to name a few).

Hey, here's a link that might help. It gets into the nitty gritty of saddle setup and the gear that adorns a saddle. It's beoWulf's thread. Good luck in getting set up.

Kits

The kits as Wesspur are great! They have everything you will need to start and after you get the hang of it you can expand your climbing gear and experience.