Quick question about Free porting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phaedrus

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I'm researching lightly porting a saw. I've some limited experience/success with earlier saws some years ago. But I'm currently out of practice. So I've been catching up and reading old forum posts etc. Once or twice I've seen the term Free porting mentioned, typically in a bad context. Can someone help me out here and explain what this term actually means?

thanks P

Hey folks,

I'm researching lightly porting a saw. I've some limited experience/success with earlier saws some years ago. But I'm currently out of practice. So I've been catching up and reading old forum posts etc. Once or twice I've seen the term Free porting mentioned, typically in a bad context. Can someone help me out here and explain what this term actually means?

thanks P
The port is simply beyond the pistons ability to cover the area.

Most times it occurs from too wide of a port or the exhaust skirt coming up short at the exhaust port floor when your piston is at top dead center. MS660 big bore cylinder tends to just cover the exhaust floor at TDC as cast. Once you machine the cylinder to drop it down a "free port" hole is at the bottom of your port.

I've been trying to practice getting my thoughts onto paper. Most times I miss the ball so I do hope that helps some. Many times I'm just dismissed because of poor writing skills or poor spelling. My skin is as thick as you could ever imagine but it doesn't change the fact many many people enjoy others struggles and like to say so.

Enjoy your port work and do ask more questions because learning never ends in the real world unless you're a know it all like so many eloquent writers out there enjoying others shortcomings.

Thanks LP,