Recommendation?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tbenzinger

Reaction score
I have been running the same husky 268 with 28” bar for 25 years. It has been a phenomenal saw for firewood, a little big for limbing/ brush work etc. I say was because I ran it over this last weekend. Not a good situation. However, now I need to replace it. I’m looking at a 372xp, but also want to get a second smaller saw. Can anyone recommend a smaller saw approx the size of the 450 rancher that will have very good performance/ reliability? I’d like to keep in the husky line, and don’t want to buy something that will be hard to get parts for. Don’t want to buy something that I’m going to have to constantly fiddle with to keep running well.

I have been running the same husky 268 with 28” bar for 25 years. It has been a phenomenal saw for firewood, a little big for limbing/ brush work etc. I say was because I ran it over this last weekend. Not a good situation. However, now I need to replace it. I’m looking at a 372xp, but also want to get a second smaller saw. Can anyone recommend a smaller saw approx the size of the 450 rancher that will have very good performance/ reliability? I’d like to keep in the husky line, and don’t want to buy something that will be hard to get parts for. Don’t want to buy something that I’m going to have to constantly fiddle with to keep running well.

I don't own one but have been looking for a new smaller saw, the husky 550xp looks pretty interesting
It's a little bit heavier than the other 50cc saws on the market, but the 550 mkii is a strong, reliable saw that handles very well. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.