Replacement engine for Briggs & Stratton verticle engine for logsplitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newcountrygirl

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am having a hard time finding a replacement (comparable) engine to my Briggs & Stratton 126M02-1010-F1 engine. Because I’m new at this, and because Briggs & Stratton appears to not have a direct replacement for this engine any longer-I’m stumped. I’ve got a logsplitter waiting to work without an engine to power it. Can anyone help? Suggestions would be great! Thank you!

You might try harbor freight. I heard mostly good things about their predator line of engines.
There's 2 different verticle shaft engines they sell. Light flywheel and a heavy flywheel. I would think she needs to look for the heavy flywheel model.

There's 2 different verticle shaft engines they sell. Light flywheel and a heavy flywheel. I would think she needs to look for the heavy flywheel model.

I didn't realize that. You're probably right. I guess the light one is for a lawn mower with a blade to help act as a counter weight to start it. Is that correct?

I didn't realize that. You're probably right. I guess the light one is for a lawn mower with a blade to help act as a counter weight to start it. Is that correct?
Yes, from what I understand. Only reason I said something is they don't always stock both and the people don't know what is for what at the store.

Yes, from what I understand. Only reason I said something is they don't always stock both and the people don't know what is for what at the store.

That's good information to know. I probably wouldn't have thought about it if I was looking to buy one.

Thank you for all the info! I can’t seem to find a vertical shaft comparable engine with the same cc or Torque and they don’t have the same crankshaft size. 🤬