Self belay prusik on SRT

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bakes5

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
What is your opinion on using a self belay prusik when climbing SRT (Texas style. 2 CMI Ultrascenders. One to saddle. One to foot straps (The foot strap one also hooks into the saddle for safety)) It is also diagramed in the sherill recreational tree climbing catalog as system 2.

I think the redundant belay it is a good idea as well, but just wanted to find out what others think about using it since it will technically be a 3rd point of attachement below the waist.

Thanks

Bakes

I'm not a tree guy, but I have 20 years experience at SRT. Big walls, caves, industrial access, etc.

The texas rig is a joke. Equally hopeless in all situations.

I like how a small diameter rope attaches to a large diameter rope.

Two ascenders ,you have a back up, if you want to be even safer a vt on a beaner on top of the upper ascender. Have to dis agree with sean, at least for tree work texas system is un clutered and un complicated. A 70 or 80 ft vertical climb is probably the most you will have to deal with, and usually less.
Try staying tied in on srt, and throwing your tail over other limbs to get good work positioning. You don't always have to climb to your tie in point and set up a ddrt system. Do some work on the way up using your ropes tail as a second tie in. Now that prussic will come in handy since you can unclip your ascenders (once your tied in with the tail) clip the prussic to you saddle and you can slack the srt side of the system so you can move around the tree.

Corey

lync said:
Two ascenders ,you have a back up, if you want to be even safer a vt on a beaner on top of the upper ascender. Have to dis agree with sean, at least for tree work texas system is un clutered and un complicated.