springboard notch

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

forestryworks

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
anyone got any pics of a springboard notch?

i just started practicing( well, trying and failing, rather), springboard
notches today

got one in my hackberry stump
i think i'll leave it there
show that tree what's up

anchored it in with a wooden shim

First, I have to say this...if you can avoid using a springboard, you're better off. The notch has to be deep enough that the spikes (or whatever you're using) can get a firm bite on the wood and not let the board move too much.
The tricky part is when the tree lets go and you and your saw have to get off that board real quick. If theres enough butt swell or whatever to require a springboard you're going to be up pretty high. Once you're up on that board you have to do everything right...face cut, back cut, wedging, the whole deal, and then get yourself down and clear. No second chances or do-overs.

Only got a picture of the stump monster. There's only old stumps with springboard notches around here. I've never seen anyone use a springboard other than at competitions. The notches left in stumps gotta be from the
50s, maybe 60s. There are lots of the old stumps around yet. As posted previously:

Almost all of the old redwood stumps have nothes in them. On the rare occassion I work on a tree with a huge butt swell but I just make a vertical and a horizontal cut and saw off the swell. I've always wanted use a spring board and the shoe lookseasy to make but it would probably be years before I got to use it. Heck I rarely wear corks.

I would love to have one of those old stumps for a lawn ornament... I also have wanted to try out a springboard - just cuz' I guess, no need for one here other than competition.
Anyone know where in the heck I can find them or the shoe and bit to make my own.