Stihl 084 dives into can't during cut

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ima Doher

Ole Sparky
Reaction score
I'm new to milling so I miss spell cant in the title.
On my logosol look alike mill I used a ms440 for a couple days till the cylinder puked the plug.
the 440 did pretty good with a skip chisel and a 28" bar.
so I turned to the 036 which did ok but was kinda slow cut though, 20" bar and chian, I filed the chain 10 degree on the teeth and cut every other two for rakers.
No diving with those two setups pretty good cutting and I could push the saw through the wood.

I picked up a stihl 084 last week that is in good condition.
It has a 30" bar on it. I filed every other 2 teeth for rakers and filed to 15 degrees on the teeth.
I was cutting a small 13" or 14"inch round oak log for the first time using the 084 saw.
The cuts were slanted so the outer part of the log little lower than the side closer to the saw.
I got 3 sides cut with slight slants then on the 4th cut it really took a nose dive about half way down the log. I found that side of the mill was off a quarter inch or so but I wouldn't think it was off so much to cause a nose dive, but I may be wrong I dunno.

When I filed the rakers on the 084 chain I messed up twice and cut an extra raker off.
I also filed to 15 degrees instead of ten that I had filed the other chain to.
So I don't know if the raker boo boo's or the 15 degree angle would make that big of a difference.

I haven't ever cut with a 120cc saw before so I'm wondering if the torque is too much for the blade?
Or maybe with that much power I need to take care and go slower taking care not to push the blade but let it go at it's own speed.