Stihl chain type Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xjma

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been lurking, searching, and doing lots of reading and just can't find the answer to what will probably be a softball for you experts! Sorry if maybe I didn't search the correct terms or something, my flame suit is on and I'm ready to be edumacated.

So I'm now a wood burner and consequently use my chainsaws alot more than I used to. Been using the stihl 018c a lot because it's light and despite 14" bar does most everything I want it to....I like it a lot.

When I order a new chain they give me a green safety chain, but I would like to try something more aggressive. Been using more aggressive stuff on Huskys by way of fathers neighbor who's a husky guy and gives them to us cause he buys in bulk, so I have no real knowledge other than "here, this is way better than what they sell at the stores, use this."

So the 'stock' chain is a 3/8 (extended?) ppm3 picco chain, 50 links, 0.043 gauge, 61ppm3 50 for 14" bar. First Q, can I put anything better on this bar or am I stuck with this chain? I've read in threads that running non picco chain is not advisable for such a small displacement saw. I can't even find a good explanation of the difference or exactly what a picco 3/8 extended chain is??!! Any good threads or websites that I could do some reading on to tell me the differences here?? I'd like to run a little more agressive chain, hopefully on the same bar? I enjoy bucking 20"+ oak with this small saw....it's fun!! Maybe I'm weird.