Stihl MS250

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JA600L

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I recently picked up my first Stihl saw off Facebook marketplace.
I got the saw as part of a package deal. $600 for a log splitter, chipper shredder, and the saw. The saw was listed at $75 but he ended up giving it to me for $50 as part of the package.
Anyway, I'm new to Stihl and want to know your thoughts on the MS250. I've done some research and found that this is considered more of a homeowner saw.
I sharpened the chain and added fresh fuel and it started right up and runs perfect. I cut up a tree with it and it works great.
So a lot of what I'm seeing online is people recommending a pro saw. I have a little under half an acre and cut firewood as more of a hobby but do heat the house with the wood (heat pump main source.)
So I don't need a saw to take care of my land. I want one to use for firewood scrounging. Now I've gotten a good deal on a much better saw than my poulan pro.
I want your opinion on whether I should keep this thing around and make it my "forever saw" or try to trade up for a "pro model". I'm happy with how it feels and performs. I also do have a cheap Amazon 62cc 20" Wemars chain saw I can use for cutting up larger trees which I rarely do. Thanks for your input!

Attachments

• 20211010_195821.jpg
    20211010_195821.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 33
  • 20211010_195834.jpg
    20211010_195834.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 28
  • 20211010_195847.jpg
    20211010_195847.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 26
  • 20211010_195907.jpg
    20211010_195907.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 32
  • 20210828_155333.jpg
    20210828_155333.jpg
    8.2 MB · Views: 33