Stihl ms290, Does it call for a. 325 or a 3/8 chain and bar?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

etbrown4

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok, I'm not a pro so can you help me out?

Can you run either or is there something on the standard sprocket which tells you?

The Stihl manual for the 290 lists .325, 3/8 and 404, whatever 404 is?

Curious what comes standard on this saw.

Ive read on arborsite that if you switch chain pitch, you have to change sprockets. Really?

Is there a way to tell what pitch your sprocket is?

Ive read on arborsite that if you switch chain pitch, you have to change sprockets. Really?

Yes, all must be the same pitch…bar tip, sprocket and chain.
the sprocket will be labeled.

Now might be a good time to post a pic of your drive sprocket.

As previous poster wrote: pitch will be stamped on the sprocket. Also, on the bar. Maybe a pic of the writing on the bar, too.

Roy

Spocket says
Sproc U. 1125/08, A 325, z8

Guessing thats 325 chain.
Stihl dealer says the std pitch for a ms 290 from the factory is 063 with 81 drag links on a 20" bar.

Question is, this saw has a Forrester bar on it with the following numbers:
s20 63 81 e11

Stihl dealer says 290s come new with 325, 63 pitch, and 81 drag links.

How can I tell the pitch of my Forrester bar?

It's a new to me saw, and though it cuts well, the chain will completely bind up after 10 min, so i think the bar might be wrong for the chain, or vice versa

Spocket says

Stihl dealer says the std pitch for a ms 290 from the factory is 063 with 81 drag links on a 20" bar.

s20 63 81 e11

It's a new to me saw, and though it cuts well, the chain will completely bind up after 10 min, so i think the bar might be wrong for the chain, or vice versa