Stihl problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ford's Lawncare

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello, I have been selling firewood for a couple of years now. I have a MS 250C(definatly not the right saw for what I am doing)Anyway, I have only cut maybe 10 cord with it so far. Somehow, the sprocket on the end of the bar keeps on jamming, preventing the chain from spinning. What do you think makes this happen, as I have never seen this before or expierenced it on any of my other saws. Like I said, that saw is still almost new and this shouln't be happening. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan

After it jams what do you do to get it free?

Is it getting oil?

Could your chain be to tight?

No the chain isen't to tight, but when it jams usually I have to take the chain off and roll the end of the bar against something solid. Its the only way I can get it free. Thats what I thought, that maybe it wasent getting enough oil, but wouln't more stuff be jamming if that was the case?

Are you cutting dry wood longer than the bar and burying the bar rather than cutting around the far side first? Teeth sharp? Keeping the channel in the bar nice and clean? Over tightening the chain? Cheapo bar? Oiler working properly? Greasing the sprocket? So many questions, so much time :D

:cheers:

Serge

No the chain isen't to tight, but when it jams usually I have to take the chain off and roll the end of the bar against something solid. Its the only way I can get it free. Thats what I thought, that maybe it wasent getting enough oil, but wouln't more stuff be jamming if that was the case?

Not if the sprocket jams first. Does it feel hot, or appear dry? If you hold the tip of the bar six inches from the wood with the saw wide open it should be flinging oil onto the log.

Stihl bars don't require grease. Is it a Stihl bar?