Stihl Saw Chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackenedTimber

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
New York/Oklahoma, depending on the day...
As I sit here munching on my requisite nightly bowl of Cheerios (the original, not that new fancy crap...) my head is spinning...

A few days ago I stopped into the local Stihl dealer (which is cleverly disguised as a John Deere Dealership) and ordered two saw chains for my 066. Well, i tried to order them, anyway. The dude at the counter told me that Stihl has stopped making straight, plain old run-of-the-mill Full Chisel.

I gasped.

I explained that I had been using Stihl full-chisel for about the last 7 years or so, and I couldn't comprehend why they would discontinue the product. After a lengthy debate, the counter dude got the Stihl rep on the phone. The Stihl rep explained (and I am paraphrasing here) "too many people have been hurt with the full-chisel, and we are no longer offering it."

After I explained to the rep that discontinuing full-chisel chain is something only a moron would do, I was told that I might be able to get a very similar chain from my dealer.

I ordered two chains in the "new, similar" model of cutter tooth, and waited. Today I picked one of the two up (the other hadn't been shipped to the JD dealer yet... I know, what kind of place doesn't make chains on site?!?!?) and gave it a try in the woods.

The chain, while looking similar to full chisel, is not at all the same. Although there are not any excess "safety" rakers on the tie-straps, the cutters look more like semi-chisel than full-chisel. The chain sucks out loud. Running a 20" bar on an 066 with a brand new chain, I was making saw dust while making the top cut of my face.

So, to my questions:

A) has anyone else heard of Stihl discontinuing the full-chisel saw chain?