Stump-B-Gone

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tweaker214

Reaction score
I have never used this product before. Please briefly explain how it is used to see if I want to attempt it.

At this time, I am planning on only removing a stump from a dead pine 75 feet tall, 12" diameter. My friend has a big bad ass drill with a 1" drive. He has much larger oak stumps to deal with. He got nowhere fast with a stump grinder, and was going to attempt more aggressive means like soaking in flammable liquids to later burn it out. I figured that they were to big to simply soak and burn out, besides the eco-disaster involved.

Also is Stump-B-Gone environmentally inert? Where does one go to find it?

Thanks for your responses!

I do not understand how much more aggressive one could be than using a stump grinder. I cannot imagine a grinder not being able to take out a stump, thus resorting to burning it out. Did the grinder have any teeth? Were the teeth sharp?

I do not know about the product being friendly or not, but it still requires time to work. I have not had much success with it.

Stump b gone is found almost anywhere..you drill holes into the stump and add the product. It is supposed to help break down the stump.

It was probably a small rental stump grinder, designed for small crabapple stumps. Rental equipment are so abused that I would never use one, unless it came from a dealer. That big tracked Vermeer goes for 800/day around here. Last I looked. Cost it out between all the stumps and see if it would pay. 50 hp direct drive machine just melts through stumpage.

The stump "eating" products are notheing more then fertilizers that accelerate microbial decomposition. N is the biggest limiting factor, so by adding it to the tree and expanding the surface area you will speed up the decomposition.