Tachyon/LAVA right choice for natural crotches?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KingArbor

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Sorry for ANOTHER rope thread.
Ive been climbing on a bare bones tail tied tautline hitch since day one. Ive always used 16 strand rope (primarily arbormaster), and a natural crotch. I am young and always looking for the next best thing. The obvious next step is investing in a split-tail/micro pulley combo with a new climbing line. Ive tried a number of different hitches and setups, and ive settled on a Distel Hitch (bee line) and one of 2 climbing lines; Those being a new slice of Arbor Master, or Tachyon/LAVA.. I havent ruled out other lines but ive read great reviews on LAVA and have been itching to order a hank of it.

HOWEVER, im concerned about the durability of the smaller 7/16 rope used in a natural crotch. I have no experience with false crotch, or friction savers, though I am not ruling out using them (I am decent with a throw ball/bigshot)... Will Tachyon hold up well in natural crotches? The performance of the Kernmantle rope is appealing, but im wondering if the heavier duty ropes will suit my style better. Obviously I dont expect smaller lines to last as long, but what kind of life can I expect from it? Do most LAVA/PI guys use a friction saver? If I stick with something more abrasion resistant like Arbormaster, is 8mm or 10mm prusik cord a better performing split tail?