Tenon Cutters?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chip_365

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Do any of you have any thoughts or preferences on tenon cutters for making rustic twig / log furniture?

I've no experience with these but would like to try it out but am not sure which set to get first and or if both are needed long term, as different tools for different jobs?

Choices I've been looking at are the Veritas tenon cutters at Lee Valley Tools perhaps the kit of 3 (quite expensive for me)

http://www.leevalley.com/garden/page.aspx?c=2&p=42299&cat=2,2180,41007

or the Logman Log Furniture Tenon Maker from Baileys' (more affordable but needs a router, so nearly the same as the Veritas)

http://www.baileysonline.com/itemdetail.asp?item=16500&catID=

Also is this the right forum for furniture making or could Arborsite benefit from a specific furniture making forum?

Thank you for any experiences or reviews.

Chip.

I build log furniture and had a friend make my tennon cutter head for me because I don't like the cone shape tennon and the one with the router looks to flimsy. Mine has a home made pneumatic feed system and can tennon up to a 5,1/2" dia log. It has an industerial 7 hp electric motor. Takes about 5 seconds per tennon. Cost for the cutter head alone was 950.00, for me, money well spent. I shopped around for a tennon cutter for about a year before I decided I would have to have one built to my specs. Wish I had a pic for you, I'll try to get one today.