Vintage 2 man 6 foot chainsaw Craigslist

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have used one of those with a 5' bar. They are gear drive and very slow and you can use the saw dust for wood. I often wondered what would happen to the guy on the end of the bar if the chain broke ? Also they have a lever to release the bar so it can swivel to cut trees down as the engine is a 4cycle and must stay upright.

I have used one of those with a 5' bar. They are gear drive and very slow and you can use the saw dust for wood. I often wondered what would happen to the guy on the end of the bar if the chain broke ? Also they have a lever to release the bar so it can swivel to cut trees down as the engine is a 4cycle and must stay upright.

Hermit,
I've been cutting with these things for a few years now and luckily no chains have broken. The weight of the chain coupled with the low rpm of the gear reduction tranny would likely prevent a horrible accident. It might just flop straight down. The float-type carburetor means you can't turn it over on the side to make felling cuts,therefore the tranny swivels to allow for this action. But they are 2-strokes just like the one-man saws, but some are two cylinders. I get a lot of enjoyment running them at old-time machinery festivals. Kids love them,but they are NOT chick-magnets as was told to me.
Silly me!
Igpoe:cheers:

Well that's why they called the helper handle the "widowmaker". I guess more than a couple guys got killed when the chain broke and whipped them across the neck years ago. You wouldn't catch me running the helper end on one of those all day long!