Web Site that explain Stihl model numbers?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshRountree

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
You'll have to forgive me for my ignorance, but I'm trying to undertand Stihl's model numbers and how old model numbers line up with newer model numbers.

Is there a website that explains all the different model numbers? For instance in the "What do you think Stihls best saw is?" thread I see several people mention the 1996 066 Magnum. Is the size of this saw the same as the MS660 that's sold now, 91.6 cc (5.6 cu. in.)? I'm assuming the 044 is the same as the MS440, and the 088 is the same is the MS880.

Just wondering what the difference is. Also are there magnum and none magnum versions? I'm assuming the magnums might have more power?

Thanks, I'm still learning.

There is no set rhyme or reason for all of it, so there is no "chart"
Farmboss, Woodboss, Magnum, Super, etc
Sometimes the only difference is just the logo, sometimes it just has a
decomp valve, sometimes a larger piston.
The switch to the MS numbers is not absolute either, as the 031 and the MS310 are totally different saws.

Last edited:
BloodOnTheIce loves this question....

According to resources, the numbers are made up my Mr. Hans Peter Stihl himself, and other than to tell the models apart, the numbers mean absolutely nothing.

The numbers usually change when something about the saw changes (ie. 036, MS360, MS361, MS362). But there is no correlation between the specs or number. The number just stands for what model the saw is, and nothing more. :)

Last edited:
That's not completely true, and there's been a lot of speculation about what part numbers mean in Stihl's system. I've been dealing with Stihl's numbering system for 20 years and here's what I've learned about it: