Weird hard ashes in stove.....???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bing187

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am a long time burner, have been burning 5 to 7 cord each winter, in a VC Resolute, for about 17 years. Have always kept chimney clean, though I HAVE slacked a little in the last year..... Don't think my issue is related though.

I have been lucky over the years in terms of firewood, either I was doing a house (I'm a part time builder) and the lot needed to be cleared, or I had a lot of storm related wood, but almost always red oak, maple or cherry. Probably makes up 95% of what I've burned over the years...........

I had a friend offer me 3 free trees fairly close to my place, he had them taken down by a pro, gave me the wood. I brought it back to my place in 84" lengths on a trailer, loaded with my Kubota, as some of it was 36" in diameter... Good size trees. And therein lies the first mistake... It was February last year, and no leaves.. I THOUGHT it was some species of Maple, or other hardwood, but wasn't sure. It was, however, HEAVY. I have since learned, since it has dried out, that it was heavy with water, as it is light as a feather when dry.

Long story short.. I'm burning it, not getting much BTU's out of it as it burns fast. I've done some research, and I THINK that it was Cottonwood, based on the bark and other descriptions I've seen....