Who else splices thier own safties?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newguy18

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Come on I can't be the only one who splices and makes my own saftey lines

I have been splicing mine for over 20 years. I'm still alive. Two points of attachment are required for a reason. The store bought ones are hand spliced too and ours done correctly are just as good. Use caution and judgment if you are a beginner. Inspect before and after every use no matter where you got it.

I have been splicing for about 2 or 2 1/2 years. it is fun challenging and can save some serious money. i just got some books and training dvds and started practicing. i think the coolest part is seeing how different rope constructions splice differently. always keep in practice

In this province lifelines have to spliced by a certified splicer. Must be a reason for that, only a few around.

I have been splicing my lines for 6 years. When I first started doing it I was a little apprehensive,as you naturally should be about something you trust your life with daily. So I did a few splices and tested them to distruction using the tirfor, truck, and snatch blocking. The worst thing that happend to the splice was it stretched a little, but the rope line had snapped before the splice looked like it was even close to coming apart.

Splicing your own ropes is not for everyone, but providing you do it to the letter of the instuctions (using the right rope and techniques) and test them, I think your going to save yourself alot of time (I really notice how much longer climbing with knots takes me than using spliced line and I trust them more than knots)