Wood Identification HELP...PLEASE!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReggieT

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Please bear with me...I'm a mere novice at this and as I stated earlier I just started cutting, gathering and burning firewood a little while ago.

I've uploaded 4 pictures in numerical order and I REALLY need some help in Identifying these various woods.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Again

Reggie

Tree1 looks like some kind of Oak
2 looks like hard maple
3 looks like a hickory I've seen in Florida
4 looks like a silver maple.

I'll be surprised if I got any of em right. NW Ohio and Alabama can have VERY different varieties.

Appreciate It!

Thanks for what you shared my friend...The last pic #4 the owner said it was "sweetgum" and basically worthless.

Tree1 looks like some kind of Oak
2 looks like hard maple
3 looks like a hickory I've seen in Florida
4 looks like a silver maple.

I'll be surprised if I got any of em right. NW Ohio and Alabama can have VERY different varieties.

1-Red Oak
2-Silver Maple
3-?? Bark looks like Gum, but the inside of the split piece would be a twisted mess!
4-I'd say Maple (Dad always called it "Broad-leaf Maple"), though there seem to be a lot of different regional names for the various Maples.

FYI-
Since you're new around here, the best you can hope for is a general consensus w/ a few dissenting opinions... Worst case-- a heated argument over what kind of wood you have!

Hi Guys,

Please bear with me...I'm a mere novice at this and as I stated earlier I just started cutting, gathering and burning firewood a little while ago.

I've uploaded 4 pictures in numerical order and I REALLY need some help in Identifying these various woods.

Thanks Again

Reggie

1. Box Elder
2. Hard to tell. Maple?
3. Black gum(Tupelo - Nyssa sylvatica)
4. Sweetgum Check out the star shaped leaves.