would appreciate some advice on root pruning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjellison

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'll be doing a job with an air spade and doing quite a lot of root pruning. I've never done it before. do you trim them using the same techniques employed in the crown of the tree? such as trimming back to a suitable lateral or do you just cut them off anywhere you want? I know the importance of making clean cuts on roots but that's about all. any advice would be appreciated. thanks

Last edited:
I'll be doing a job with an air space and doing quite a lot of root pruning. I've never done it before. do you trim them using the same techniques employed in the crown of the tree? such as trimming back to a suitable lateral or do you just cut them off anywhere you want? I know the importance of making clean cuts on roots but that's about all. any advice would be appreciated. thanks

You always try to make cuts at a lateral. Less is definitely more when root pruning. The biggest concern is girdled, or roots that will be girdled. Also remember that any problems you create with bad cuts underground will not only have effects at that spot and be unsightly but Will also adversely affect the crown of the tree, and be noticeable there (in the crown) too.

I am sure some of the more experienced guys will be right along to help out WAY more.

Beside being the food system for trees, roots are the support system also. Cut to much and you have a serious problem. As each situation is different, questions like why are cutting the roots and species of the tree all have to be answered. Also the overall condition of the tree before cutting has to be evaluated. In general smooth cuts to laterals is correct.