Echo CS-300

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HLC03

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I just traded a laptop for a brand new in box CS-300. I did just recently buy a CS-341 and I like it except for the bar oil that leaks through the clutch cover and onto the top of the saw, its like a magnet for chips. I know the 300 is built basically the same as the 341. Anyway back to the CS-300.

I wanted to get some opinions from guys that have run this saw. Is the carb the same basically as the 341? Can I tune it the same as the 341, I heard something about reed valves? How does it cut? If I do a muff mod will it pull a 14inch bar good enough to use for tree work on a daily basis?
I am still new to this stuff so be easy on me.

Does anyone on this forum mod Echos in terms of port work?

Should I just keep it new and try to use it in another barter on Craigslist and try to get something else?

Thanks for any info in advance!
Adam

it does have the reed valve in it and it can be modded like any other saw. Its not worth porting it though

so whats the difference reed valve vs ? whats on the 341? are reed valve saws harder to tune?

Adam

the 341 is also reed valve. i think the 300 is just an older style of the 301 which is a smaller cc saw than the 341 you have. the only top handled echo's that are piston ported are the 330 and 360's but those things suck so bad. its a big bulky pos and the power is mediocre as well. what happened was echo dropped the 341 a few years ago discontinued it because of the newer 330 360's and when everybody hated them they brought it back to the market in orange lol

I just picked up one as well.
I did a muff mod to it and advanced the timing slightly and it is a LOT better saw now.