New MS 260

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigredd

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I am new to Site and just bought a new Stihl MS 260. Had originally ordered a Husqvarna 450e from Sears, but cancelled it after reading the negative posts from this forum. After visiting a local dealer that carries both Stihl and Husy, I decided on the 260 with 16 blade. Almost went for the 270 for $70 less, but liked the feel of the 260.

I enquired on the Husqvarna 346 XP and the Dealer did not recommend it for a novice cutter like me. He said it accelerates very quickly, has a very steep power curve, and would not be comfortable for a novice to handle.

First cut was a 14" cherry tree in the back woods that had broken near the base and leaning on a neaby oak. The 260went thru it like butter. Man that is a smooth saw.

Would appreciate some tips for downing a 16" oak tree (dead). It's about 20 feet from the house, but sits atop a steep incline and gravity pushes it toward the house. There is an opening away from the house, but would have to fight gravity somewhat. Also scared of the remaining branches falling while cutting, which are about 60 feet high. Would it be best to use a 28 ft ladder and take down the upper part of the tree with a hand saw, or just take it down at the base with the chain saw and watch for falling debris?

I am new to Site and just bought a new Stihl MS 260. Had originally ordered a Husqvarna 450e from Sears, but cancelled it after reading the negative posts from this forum. After visiting a local dealer that carries both Stihl and Husy, I decided on the 260 with 16 blade. Almost went for the 270 for $70 less, but liked the feel of the 260.