Gloves for Firewood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snakes555

Reaction score
I have been cutting and stacking firewood for a few years and have shredded my gloves every couple of months. Anyone find a good pair of gloves that will handle firewood on a daily basis for more than a month. I have been using duct tape to help cut down on the monthly expenses of buying new gloves. I have used leather, goat skin and the normal cowhide. I like the cowhide for the gripping of the wood but after 2-3 cords the fingers are worn pretty good. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Youngstown

I, too, was shredding leather gloves, cowhide, etc at an alarming rate. I tried a pair of the Youngstown gloves and have been very happy with them. I really like the velcro closure at the wrist to stop saw chips and debris from getting in the glove. I looked high and low for a thick leather glove with a velcro closure and never did find one.

youngstowngloves.jpg

I buy the rubber coated cotten or nitrile coated thin "spandex" gloves. These are coated only on the fronts and finger tips, open on the backs so they breathe. The rubber grips the logs very well, keeps my hands dry when handling damp logs and offer some protection.

The thicker ones are a couple bucks a pair, the thinner ones about a buck, were F.A.R. at Menards recently (Free After Rebate for you non-midwesterners).
I had one pair with some kevlar reinforcement, seemed to last a bit longer, but all are a disposable item.

Snake,

Run a search, there have been a few glove threads with LOTS of good info in the last couple years.

Cheap and durable+Ducttape seems to be a common selection though.LOL!!

Stay safe!
Dingeryote

Pigskin outlasts cowhide about 2 or 3 to 1.

Even so, you get about a season out of them.

I'm leaning towards cheap rubber coated gloves, to be tossed when they wear out.