How do you file your chains........

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MotorSeven

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
This is for those of us that hand file your chains. The stihl book says to file from the inside edge to the outside edge. This is also the way i was taught a long time ago, and is the way i have always filed. I recently got a Woodbug chainsaw mill, and in the video they recommend that you file the oposite: from the outside of the cutting edge to the inside. Their reasoning is that this forces the hard chrome coating of the cutter down across the cutting edge, which means the edge stays sharper longer. The other method forces the hard chrome away and off the cutting contact surface, exposing the softer steel under the chrome coating. I did sharpen the mill chain the Woodbug way and it seemed to work fine, although i have no previous experience in milling so have nothing to compare it to. It makes sense, so i am going to try it on the smaller saws.
Anyone else file this way? Pros/cons?
RD

Newbie at hand filing, so take it with a grain of salt. On round I go inside to out.
But on square chisel filing, I was told to go outside to in. For the reasons given in your thread. I just hope the chains cut at all when I am done. :biggrinbounce2:

Cut4fun said:
Newbie at hand filing, so take it with a grain of salt. On round I go inside to out.
But on square chisel filing, I was told to go outside to in. For the reasons given in your thread. I just hope the chains cut at all when I am done. :biggrinbounce2:

AHHHH....... But ain't that the truth!!!
Andy

MotorSeven said: