064 stihl cylinder fixable?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

421SD

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I need some advice on my 064. Back story short was friends saw blew up the clutch, which took out oil pump etc. He gave it to me, fixed the damage ran good. Has 150 + comp. Took the muffler off and saw some scratches, pulled cylinder and found this. Can it be saved ? Or do I need a new cylinder and piston? Thanks for the help!1500331874778624040528.jpg 15003319568231341641287.jpg

It feels like a scratch not transfer. But it had 150lb. compression Just befor I tore it down. The rings have a lot of gap surprisingly given the good compression. I have a new set of rings for it. Thinking about throwing them in. I'm new to saws that's why I was looking for some other opinions on the damage. I rebuild automatic transmissions for a living saws are a new hobby.

I like them because they are way less complicated. Something different than cars & trucks. I was thinking that if the worst that happens is it eats a set of ring no big deal I'll look for a piston and cylinder then. Just get some use out of it in the time being. Had a hard time finding a oil pump for it so I modded a 066 pump. It works great.1500338537212746275249.jpg

That cylinder will clean up. A light sand and scothbrite, then clean thoroughly.

The piston--- some would run that without hesitation and probably be fine. Maybe lightly sand it, even. New oem or caber rings would help. Personally I'd put a new Meteor or OEM piston in it. Any wear on the skirts?

Also--- how'd you mod that pump?